Electric Vans in Australia: Every One You Can Buy (2026)

More than a dozen electric vans are on sale in Australia, from $45,000 drive-away. Prices, battery, range, payload and towing for each, the cheapest, the people movers, and what a full load really does to range.

Illustration of an unbranded white electric cargo van charging at a roadside post on a light-industrial street at dusk, with a green electric people mover behind
On this page

You can buy more than a dozen battery-electric vans new in Australia as of October 2026, and prices have fallen fast this year. The cheapest is the Cavan C1 at $44,990 drive-away, with the LDV eDeliver 5 and Farizon V7E at $49,990 drive-away and Ford’s Transit City arriving in November at $50,000. The Kia PV5 Cargo, sold as the cheapest when it launched in April, is $55,990 before on-road costs. A full load costs less range than most people expect, about 5 to 15 per cent; towing costs a lot more.

Prices were checked on the makers’ Australian websites on 29 October 2026 unless a source is named, and several drive-away offers end on 31 October, so confirm the price with the dealer.

Which electric vans can you buy in Australia?

These are the battery-electric cargo vans sold new in Australia, cheapest first. Payload is what the van can carry, people included; cargo space is the load area in cubic metres. Range is the maker’s claim on the WLTP test unless another test is named.

VanStarting priceBattery and claimed rangePayload and braked towingCargo space
Cavan C1$44,990 drive-away (launch offer)50.2 kWh; 270 km on the WLTC city cycle1,000 kg; not yet rated to tow6.6 m³
LDV eDeliver 5$49,990 drive-away (ABN holders); $52,621 retail64 kWh; 335 km1,200 kg; 1,500 kg6.6 m³
Farizon V7E$49,990 drive-away50 kWh; 240 km (66 kWh version: 329 km)1,338 kg; 1,000 kg6.95 m³
Kia PV5 Cargo$55,990 before on-roads (about $61,000 drive-away)71.2 kWh; 416 km740 kg; 750 kg4.4 m³
LDV eDeliver 7$57,990 drive-away (ABN holders); $61,042 retail77 kWh; 318 km1,350 kg; 1,500 kg5.9 m³
Renault Kangoo E-Tech$61,990 before on-roads45 kWh; 286 km523 kg; 1,500 kg3.3 m³
Farizon SV$67,990 drive-away83 kWh; 376 km (106 kWh version: up to 398 km)1,300 kg; 2,000 kg6.95 m³, up to 13 m³
Hyundai Staria Load Electric$70,990 before on-roads84 kWh; 450 km1,005 kg; 2,000 kg4.9 m³
VW ID. Buzz Cargo$72,990 drive-away (offer to 31 December)79 kWh usable; 431 km774 kg; 1,200 kg3.9 m³
Ford E-Transit Custom$77,890 before on-roads64 kWh; 301 kmAbout 1,150 kg; 2,300 kgAbout 6 m³
VW e-Transporter$83,590 before on-roads64 kWh; up to 330 km806 kg; 2,300 kg5.8 m³
Mercedes-Benz eVito Van$98,951 before on-roads60 kWh; 262 km on the older NEDC test882 kg; not rated to tow6.0 m³

Sources: Cavan; LDV’s price page and eDeliver 5 and eDeliver 7 pages; Farizon’s offers page; Kia’s PV5 Cargo page, with the drive-away figure from Kia’s NSW price tool; Renault’s Kangoo E-Tech page, with the price from CarExpert because Renault lists it as price on application; CarExpert for the Staria Load; Volkswagen’s ID. Buzz Cargo and Transporter pages, with the e-Transporter’s range from CarsGuide; NRMA and Cars24 for the E-Transit Custom, and The Driven and CarsGuide for the eVito, because Ford’s and Mercedes-Benz’s own sites would not load for us.

Three large vans sit above these. The Ford E-Transit starts at $89,990 before on-roads (CarsGuide), and launch-era reviews list a 68 kWh usable battery, 230 to 307 km of WLTP range depending on body, and about 1,600 kg of payload in 11 m³. The Mercedes-Benz eSprinter costs $104,313 before on-roads with an 81 kWh battery, or $121,041 with 113 kWh, according to CarsGuide, which measured up to 264 km of combined WLTP range from the smaller one. The LDV eDeliver 9 is quote-only, with an 88.55 kWh battery, 280 km WLTP and 11 m³; note its top speed is limited to 90 km/h, which matters on a highway run.

Read the range column with the test in mind. WLTP is the current standard; the Cavan’s 270 km is a city-cycle figure, which flatters a van that spends its day in traffic and overstates highway range, and the eVito’s NEDC figure is from an older, more generous test. At the other end, the ACE EV Mini Van is a micro van at $33,785 before GST, with 350 kg of payload, a 100 km/h top speed and a range quoted on the Japanese JC08 cycle; it suits a council depot or a campus, not a trade run.

Peugeot is winding down. Its Australian distributor announced its exit in July 2026, Chasing Cars reported, and the E-Partner and E-Expert are being cleared as runout stock at big discounts. Check who will service the van before buying one.

What is the cheapest electric van in Australia?

The Cavan C1, at $44,990 drive-away, a launch offer from its single Melbourne dealer when we checked on 29 October 2026. For that you get a 50 kWh battery, a 1,000 kg payload and 6.6 m³ of space. Cavan is a new brand from Foton, its site says some figures are provisional, and the van is not yet rated to tow.

From the brands with a national dealer network, the cheapest are the LDV eDeliver 5 at $49,990 drive-away for ABN holders ($52,621 for everyone else) and the Farizon V7E at $49,990 drive-away. Ford’s Transit City joins them in November at $50,000 drive-away, with or without an ABN, a 56 kWh battery and about 245 to 254 km of WLTP range depending on which report you read (CarExpert).

The Kia PV5 Cargo was promoted as Australia’s cheapest electric van when Kia priced it in April, and held the title for two days before Farizon undercut it, The Driven reported. Its $55,990 is before on-road costs; Kia’s own price tool puts it at about $61,000 drive-away in New South Wales. It has the longest range of the cheaper vans, 416 km WLTP, but the smallest load space and payload.

“Cheapest” also depends on the job. A $50,000 van with 240 km of range is a bargain for a plumber doing 120 km a day around one city, and a poor buy for a courier on regional runs.

Which electric van has the longest range?

The Hyundai Staria Load Electric, at a claimed 450 km on the WLTP test, followed by the VW ID. Buzz Cargo at 431 km and the Kia PV5 Cargo at 416 km. All three are mid-size vans. Among the bigger vans, the Farizon SV with its 106 kWh battery claims up to 398 km, while the large Ford E-Transit claims 230 to 307 km depending on body and the LDV eDeliver 9 280 km.

VanClaimed rangeBattery
Hyundai Staria Load Electric450 km84 kWh
VW ID. Buzz Cargo431 km79 kWh usable
Kia PV5 Cargo416 km71.2 kWh
Farizon SV (106 kWh)Up to 398 km106 kWh
Farizon SV (83 kWh)376 km83 kWh
LDV eDeliver 5335 km64 kWh
VW e-TransporterUp to 330 km64 kWh
Farizon V7E (66 kWh)329 km66 kWh

All WLTP, from the sources under the price table above. The Cavan C1’s 270 km is left out because it is on the city-only WLTC cycle, which is not comparable.

Van range claims already assume part of a load (see the next section), so a full payload costs less than you might think. Speed costs more: at a steady 110 km/h, plan on 60 to 75 per cent of the claim, which makes even the Staria Load a roughly 270 to 340 km van on the highway. For a trade or delivery round in one city, every van in the price table covers a day’s driving with room to spare. On regional runs, where the next charger is matters as much as range; our charging gaps study maps the long stretches, and our guide to the longest-range electric cars compares vans with the utes, SUVs and people movers.

How far does an electric van go with a full load?

Further than most buyers expect. The tests we found put the cost of a full payload at about 5 to 15 per cent of range on a mixed run:

  • A dyno study by testing body UTAC for leasing company Arval measured 11 per cent less range for a fully loaded mid-size van and 14 per cent for a large one (Arval, 2024).
  • EV Central drove a Peugeot E-Partner around the same loop empty and with 377 kg aboard, and it used 14 per cent more energy loaded (EV Central).
  • The RAA measured 5 per cent more energy from a Mercedes eVito carrying 600 kg (RAA).

Part of the reason is that van range figures already include a load: a van’s WLTP test is run with 28 per cent of its payload aboard, against 15 per cent for a car, which is why Ford quotes the Transit City’s range “with the vehicle carrying a load equivalent to 28 per cent of its payload capacity”. Speed, hills, headwinds and cold weather cost more than the load does. Our guide to how far an EV can go explains why highway speed takes such a bite, and the same physics applies to a tall, square van.

Can an electric van tow?

Some can, and the ratings vary widely: the Cavan C1 and eVito are not rated to tow, the PV5 takes 750 kg and the V7E 1,000 kg, the LDVs 1,500 kg, the Farizon SV, Staria Load and Renault Master 2,000 kg, and the E-Transit Custom and e-Transporter 2,300 kg.

Range is the catch. In the Arval study, a 500 kg trailer behind a fully loaded mid-size van cut range by 24 per cent compared with the van empty, and an ID. Buzz Cargo towing a tall box trailer at 90 km/h lost 38 per cent (InsideEVs). We found no Australian test of an electric van with a heavy trailer; our electric utes guide covers the ute and caravan tests, which show energy use rising 50 to 100 per cent. For a box trailer to the tip or a light tool trailer around town, an electric van is fine; our guide to towing a caravan with an electric car covers caravans. For a 2-tonne trailer on a long run, a diesel or a plug-in hybrid still does it better.

How do electric vans charge?

At the depot or at home overnight, mostly. Nearly every van here takes 10.5 to 11 kW on AC, which needs three-phase power; on a single-phase home charger at about 7 kW, ten hours overnight adds around 70 kWh, enough to fill most of these batteries from low. Our guides to charging at home and charger installation cover the wiring.

On the road, DC fast-charging speeds vary more than the prices do:

VanPeak DC chargingClaimed DC charging timePower outlet (V2L)
Hyundai Staria Load Electric800-volt; Hyundai quotes a 350 kW charger10-80% in about 20 minYes, a powerpoint in the cargo area
VW ID. Buzz Cargo185 kW10-80% in 26 minNot listed
Farizon SV140 kW20-80% in 36 minNot listed
Kia PV5 Cargo128 kW10-80% in about 30 minYes, 3.6 kW
Ford E-Transit Custom125 kW10-80% in about 39 min (European test)Not on 2026 models
Farizon V7E100 kW20-80% in 26 minYes, 240 V socket
LDV eDeliver 778 kW20-80% in about 43 minNot listed
LDV eDeliver 570 kW20-80% in about 36 minYes, 6.6 kW

Watch the time windows: 20 to 80 per cent is a shorter charge than 10 to 80. A van that can run power tools from its battery, through vehicle-to-load, saves a generator on site; our vehicle-to-load guide explains what V2L will and will not run.

Two practical traps. Fast chargers inside multi-storey car parks sit behind height bars, so a high-roof van needs an open-air site; check the clearance on our charger map or the network’s app before you rely on one. And many charging bays are laid out for a car to drive in nose-first, so a long van or a van with a trailer can block the next bay.

Which electric people movers can you buy?

These are the battery-electric people movers with six or more seats on sale in October 2026, plus the five-seat ID. Buzz, which families shop against them. Our 7-seater electric cars guide compares them with the seven-seat SUVs. The last column matters for a novated lease: only an EV priced under the $91,661 luxury car tax threshold for fuel-efficient cars can be FBT-exempt.

People moverSeatsStarting price (before on-roads)Battery and claimed rangeUnder the LCT threshold?
VW ID. Buzz Pro5$75,99079 kWh usable; 422 km WLTPYes
VW ID. Buzz Pro LWB7$80,99086 kWh usable; 452 km WLTPYes
Denza D97$85,990 (FWD); $95,990 (AWD)103.4 kWh; 520 km, quoted by Denza on the WLTC cycle (FWD)FWD yes, AWD no
Xpeng X97$89,90094.8 kWh; 535 km WLTPOnly just; check the invoice
Zeekr 0097 (6 in the top model)$115,900116 kWh; 604 km WLTPNo

Sources: Volkswagen’s ID. Buzz page and CarExpert for list prices (Volkswagen is running drive-away offers of $79,990 and $84,990 to 31 December); Denza’s D9 page and EV Central; Xpeng’s X9 page and The Driven; Zeekr’s 009 page and EV Central.

The threshold test uses the car’s price including GST and dealer delivery but not registration or stamp duty, so a car listed just under it, like the X9, can tip over once delivery and options are added. Mercedes-Benz’s eight-seat eVito Tourer is listed at $141,769 to $149,305 drive-away on carsales, well over the threshold. LDV has paused sales of its Mifa 9 electric people mover and is evaluating a smaller Mifa 7, EV Central reported.

The Kia PV5 Passenger is the one many families are waiting for: seven seats, the 71.2 kWh battery and a 750 kg towing limit, due late 2026 or early 2027 with no price yet, RACV reported. Do not confuse the electric models with the plug-in hybrid BYD M9, due late 2026 from $61,990 before on-roads, or the Kia Carnival and Hyundai Staria hybrids, which have no plug at all; none of those qualifies for the FBT exemption. Our EV vs hybrid guide sets out the difference.

Do electric vans get the FBT exemption or any incentives?

The electric car FBT exemption applies only to a car, which the ATO defines as a vehicle “designed to carry a load of less than one tonne and fewer than 9 passengers (including the driver)” (ATO). On their published payloads, the PV5 Cargo, Kangoo E-Tech, ID. Buzz Cargo and e-Transporter sit under a tonne; the one-tonne vans, from the eDeliver 5 to the E-Transit, do not. Whether a particular van counts is a question for your accountant or lease provider. The exemption is also being cut back: from 1 April 2027 the full exemption is due to cover only EVs costing $75,000 or less, a change announced in the May Budget but not yet law, as our FBT end date guide tracks.

For most work vans this matters less than it sounds. Private use of a panel van or a vehicle that carries a tonne or more is usually exempt from FBT anyway if it is limited to driving between home and work and minor, infrequent trips, whatever the van runs on (ATO).

There is no national grant for electric vans. NSW’s fleet kick-start pays up to $8,000 per light commercial EV for businesses running a fleet of at least three vehicles, but its $9 million was fully allocated by August 2026 and new applicants join a waitlist that closes on 30 November (Energy NSW). Queensland charges electric vans a lower stamp duty rate, the ACT puts zero-emission vans in its cheapest duty and registration bands, and the Northern Territory waives up to $1,500 of stamp duty on electric vehicles registered before 1 July 2027. The $20,000 instant asset write-off does not cover a new van, which costs more; a small business using simplified depreciation puts it in the general pool instead.

Which electric vans are coming?

  • Ford Transit City, November 2026, $50,000 drive-away, 56 kWh, about 1,085 kg payload.
  • Renault Master E-Tech, priced for Australia from $77,990 before on-roads, with an 87 kWh battery and 409 km WLTP; Renault said it would arrive in the second half of 2026 (Renault).
  • Updated Ford E-Transit Custom, from March 2027 at $73,990 before on-roads, with a bigger 71 kWh battery, about 340 km WLTP and a power outlet.
  • Kia PV5 Passenger, late 2026 or early 2027, and the larger Kia PV7 van, due in late 2027 (CarExpert).
  • BYD’s first van, the V9, approved for sale but without a price or date (The Driven).

Does roadside assistance cover an electric van?

Not always, and the gaps are easy to miss until a van is stuck on the side of the road. Like any EV, a flat electric van cannot be towed on its wheels and needs a flatbed, so check three things before you need one.

Business use. Most personal roadside plans are not meant for work vehicles. NRMA’s excludes “a Vehicle or Trailer that is used for business or commercial purposes” (NRMA terms), RAC in WA’s “does not cover vehicles used for commercial or business purposes”, and RACT’s is “for consumer use only”. RACV excludes commercial vehicles, which it defines as those “used primarily for delivering goods and services in the course of any trade or business”. RACQ, RAA and AANT exclude only vehicles used solely for business. A van that earns its keep belongs on a business plan, which every club sells, such as NRMA’s business roadside, RACV Business Care, RACQ Fleet Care and RAC BusinessWise.

Weight. Standard towing stops at 3 to 4 tonnes of gross vehicle mass (GVM, the most the van may weigh loaded) at most clubs: 3.5 tonnes on NRMA’s personal plans, 4 tonnes on RACV Roadside Care and RAC’s tow trays, and 3 tonnes for RAA’s and AANT’s standard tow trucks. The Ford E-Transit and Mercedes-Benz eSprinter are 4.25-tonne vans (CarsGuide), so they need a heavier product: NRMA’s Light Commercial cover is for vehicles of 3.5 to 12 tonnes, RACV’s business plans go to 8 tonnes and RACQ’s Fleet Care to 6 tonnes, at an extra fee above 3 tonnes.

What the maker includes. Most electric vans come with roadside assistance, but the terms differ on the thing an EV driver most needs:

MakerIncluded roadsideIf the battery runs flat
LDV5 years on the eDeliver 5“Not a covered service and any costs are the responsibility of the driver”; vehicles over 3.5 tonnes excluded
Volkswagen12 months on the e-Transporter, 24 months on other EVs, renewed by dealer servicingTow to the nearest charging point, VW dealer or home; vehicles over 3.5 tonnes GVM excluded
Kia12 months, renewed by dealer servicing for up to 8 yearsTow to the nearest charging station at Kia’s expense; vehicles over 4.5 tonnes excluded
Hyundai24 months on EVs, renewed by dealer servicingTow to the nearest charging point, but towing only for vehicles “weighing less than 2,500kg at the time of breakdown”
Ford12 months, renewed by dealer servicing until the van is 7 years oldNot stated in the terms we could read
Mercedes-Benz eSprinter5 years or 250,000 km, per CarsGuideNot stated in the terms we could read

Sources: LDV’s roadside brochure and eDeliver 5 page; Volkswagen’s roadside assist terms; Kia’s roadside page and terms; Hyundai’s EV roadside terms; a Ford dealer’s roadside page, because Ford’s own site would not load for us.

The LDV and Hyundai rows matter most. An LDV eDeliver that runs out of charge is towed at your cost under LDV’s own cover, and the Staria Load Electric carries up to 1,005 kg, so ask Hyundai how its 2,500 kg towing limit applies to a loaded van. If the maker’s cover has a hole, a club business plan fills it.

When you call, say it is an electric van and give its GVM, so the operator sends a tow truck rated for it. Our guides to running out of charge, who tows an EV to a charger and EV roadside assistance cover the rest.

Should you buy an electric van now?

If your van comes home or back to the depot every night and does under about 200 km a day, yes. The cheapest now cost about $50,000 drive-away, the running costs are a fraction of diesel, and there is plenty of choice. If you run long regional legs, tow heavy, or work where chargers are far apart, wait for the next round of bigger batteries or look at a plug-in hybrid ute. And if the plan is weekends away rather than work, our electric campervans guide covers the conversions you can buy and hire.

Frequently asked questions

What electric vans are available in Australia?

As of October 2026 you can buy more than a dozen battery-electric cargo vans new, from the Cavan C1, LDV eDeliver 5 and Farizon V7E at about $45,000 to $53,000 drive-away up to the Ford E-Transit and Mercedes-Benz eSprinter at $90,000 to $120,000 before on-road costs. Electric people movers include the Volkswagen ID. Buzz, Denza D9, Xpeng X9 and Zeekr 009.

What is the cheapest electric van in Australia?

The Cavan C1, at $44,990 drive-away as a launch offer from its Melbourne dealer in October 2026. Among the established brands, the LDV eDeliver 5 is $49,990 drive-away for ABN holders and the Farizon V7E $49,990 drive-away, and Ford's Transit City arrives in November at $50,000 drive-away. The Kia PV5 Cargo is $55,990 before on-road costs, about $61,000 on the road.

How far can an electric van go with a full load?

A full payload typically costs an electric van about 5 to 15 per cent of its range on a mixed run, much less than most buyers expect. Van range tests already include 28 per cent of the payload. Speed, hills, cold weather and towing cost far more: a light trailer has cut van range by 24 to 38 per cent in published tests.

Do electric vans get the FBT exemption?

Only if the van counts as a car under the ATO's definition, which means it is designed to carry less than one tonne and fewer than nine people, and it is priced under the $91,661 luxury car tax threshold. A one-tonne work van falls outside it, but private use limited to commuting and minor trips is usually exempt from FBT under a separate rule that applies to any work van.

What electric people movers can you buy in Australia?

The Volkswagen ID. Buzz from $75,990 before on-roads (five seats) or $80,990 (seven seats), the Denza D9 from $85,990, the Xpeng X9 from $89,900 and the Zeekr 009 from $115,900, all before on-road costs as of October 2026. The Kia PV5 Passenger is due in late 2026 or early 2027. The BYD M9 and Kia Carnival are hybrids, not electric.

Does roadside assistance cover an electric van?

Check three things. Most personal club plans exclude vehicles used for business, so a work van needs a business plan. Standard club towing stops at 3 to 4 tonnes, which leaves out 4.25-tonne vans such as the Ford E-Transit and Mercedes-Benz eSprinter unless you buy heavier cover, such as NRMA's Light Commercial plan. And makers' cover varies: LDV's does not cover an eDeliver that runs out of charge, while Kia and Volkswagen tow a flat EV to the nearest charger.

⚡ New fast chargers, in your inbox

Get an occasional email when newly-added fast chargers appear in your state. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.